Allow Users to Delete Their Drupal Accounts

Allow Users to Delete Their Drupal Accounts

It’s good practice to allow users to leave your site completely.

That means users should be able to delete their account entirely, together with all the data associated with it.

In Drupal, you can allow users to delete their accounts. Here’s how the feature works:

  • Go to People > Permissions.
  • Under “User”, check the boxes next to the “Cancel own user account” and “Select method for canceling own account” permissions:

Note that if you are logged in with the main User 1 account, you will not be able to delete your account. You will need to create a test account.

Here’s how get the to the “Cancel account” button:

  • Go to the “My Account” page.
  • Click the “Edit” tab:
  • Scroll to the bottom and find the “Cancel account” button.
  • When you click the button, you’ll find 4 more choices that allow the user to decide what happens to any content they have created on your site:

Instructor

  • Steve is the founder of OSTraining. Originally from the UK, he now lives in Sarasota in the USA. Steve's work straddles the line between teaching and web development.

0 0 votes
Blog Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
3 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
David Corbacho

Funny fact: This feature was filled as the issue number 8, by the user 8 of [url=http://drupal.org]drupal.org[/url]

[url=https://www.drupal.org/node/8]https://www.drupal.org/node/8[/url]
It was fixed by sun during Drupal 7 development, not long time ago… what ? 6 years ago already! Time flies. :O

steve

Thanks David. What an interesting coincidence.
That conversation goes all the way back to 2001! [url=https://www.drupal.org/node/8]https://www.drupal.org/node/8[/url]

OrazionS

Not Works.
I followed your tutorial but the the button “Cancel account” not appears to the user

3
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x